The freedom of a bike

I know it is a cliche, I know that thousands of parents experienced what I experienced just today, but still my heart jumps for joy.  Champe learned to ride his bike.  Now to be clear – at this point he can’t start it and I am 100% sure based on the wrecks that he cannot stop it, but he can ride.

When I learned to ride, I remember the joy of knowing I had freedom.  I could go as far as my legs could take me (or at least to the stop sign at the end of the street because I would be grounded if I went past it.)  I owned the block because I had transportation.  I am not sure Champe realizes that yet, but for me it was a milestone and a memory I will always remember.  It was my Kodak moment for the day, and I am one proud daddy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

